5-Gallon Water Jug Workout

Ok, so I was all prepped mentally and physically to head out into the rain today for a jog. Some days the rain would be such a nice excuse NOT to go, trust me! But today I wasnt happy about it. I got all ready and stood in the entryway of the building I live in, watching the down-pour along with the angry wind, and I was SO BUMMED! I knew if I went it was going to be nasty..this was no gentle rain. So I pouted as I headed back up the stairs to my apartment. When I got inside, I was looking all around my place for some idea of what to do for a workout.. something I could use. And there in the corner was one of my 5 gallon water jugs WITH A HANDLE! Sweet! They dont always have the handle. If you get 5 gallon water jugs delivered to your house you know what I’m talking about. Anyway, I figured out some pretty cool and effective ways to use this thing for weightlifting, and the water added a nice degree of difficulty, making it harder to control which was firing my core big time! I do realize that a 5 gallon jug full of water is a bit heavy (about 45 lbs.), so an alternative would be a gallon of milk (filled with water of course)  ;)  This actually ended up being a good workout and made me sweat!! The video shows only a sample of what I did: stationary lunges holding jug overhead (full body), followed by single arm cleans (explosive and major heart rate elevator), followed by sumo squat, followed by single arm row.

One response to “5-Gallon Water Jug Workout

  1. you are awesome!!!!!

Leave a Reply

